Charts: Efficiently Refreshing Data

I am new to charts and currently evaluating. I am using charts to display real-time data. I have 10 series that are each getting unique data every ~2 seconds. So I need to update the chart every ~2s. I start accumulating a fair bit of data after a few minutes of running, thus reloading the data nd redrawing are expensive operations causing my app to get bogged down. 

The only way I have found to update my chart are:

[chart reloadData];

[chart redrawChartAndGL: YES]

Is there a more efficient way in order to avoid reloading all of my data everytime? Something built into shinobi? An easy way to put the redraw/reload on a different thread?

Thanks, 

Hi,

Currently, the only way to update the chart is by calling reloadData , which causes the chart to request the whole data set from its data-source. We are currently working on improving our support for data streaming, but we don’t have any dates finalised as to when these improvements will be available.

To help you improve your performance, could I ask some questions about your chart?

• When it is updating, does you need to see all of the old data? You could supply a window of data to the chart.
  • Have you thought about creating a “smart” data-source that actually samples the data, reducing the number of data points that are actually given to the chart. You could make this behaviour kick in when your data set gets so large that the reload lag is noticeable? It is important to note that if you have more data points than pixels horizontally, you wont be seeing them all anyway!

Thanks,

Jan

Jan,

Thanks for the response - I appreciate hearing back. And thanks for the ideas. I’m using core data and a fetchedresultscontroller, so was hoping for a similar cached data approach as a collection or table where only new data is added to the dataset and then the plot refreshed instead of reloading the entire dataset.

A followup Question: