Migrate from web-based to native with Shinobi

Hi guys, 

I’m planning to do a migration of my reporting app from HTML5+JS (Fusion Charts) to native (Shinobi) and I have a few questions in which I’d like to have your feedback if possible:

1) Working with JSON | WS:

Since I’ve been a web developer for a long time, working with web services and JSON on web apps is something I can picture in my head clearly.  Making the move to iOS Objective-C and native apps introduces a few questions in my general migration plan.  

I know since version 5 we have native JSON handling within iOS and I was wondering if there is any special consideration I need to take into account when working with external data sources (WS and JSON).

I checked all tutorials and guides but I didn’t see any example of external/remote data sources feeding the charts.  Any thought on this?

2) Drilling down (second level charts):

Something else that’s essential in my app is second level, (or detailed) charts.

I usually go on my reporting app from the general to the specific data.  Maybe showing a simple Pie:

Pie

and allowing the user to touch a section and then query my DB again, rendering a new chart (Lines, Bars, etc) with the results from that query:

Detailed Bars

I’ve notice that on the ShinobiPlay app, on the “touch” section (Names for pet turtles after 1984) you can detect the touch of a section and trigger an animation. 

Is this behavior reserved for the animation or can it be also used for a view transition too? Can I use this to make my second level query and bring a new detailed chart? Is it the recommended (proper) way to accomplish this?

3) Real time: **** 

The last important thing on my mind regarding the migration of my app is the real time monitoring feature.

I’ve checked apps like Server Density and I know the use Shinobi charts and put their API in charge of feeding real time info to the iPad app.