Using AutoLayout with Grids

I am attempting to layout a grid inside another view.  At first approximation, I want it to take up 100% of the superview, but I can’t figure out how to make that happen.

No matter the exact form I try, I get the grid hanging off the upper left of the superview, or missing entirely.

Does this grid control support using AutoLayout, and if so, how?  If it doesn’t support auto layout, how do I place it in an otherwise autolaid out view hierarchy?  Thanks!

[self.gridsetTranslatesAutoresizingMaskIntoConstraints:NO];

[self addConstraints:[NSLayoutConstraint constraintsWithVisualFormat:@"H:|[grid]" options:0 metrics:nil views:views]];
[self addConstraints:[NSLayoutConstraint constraintsWithVisualFormat:@"V:|[grid]" options:0 metrics:nil views:views]];

Greetings Program!

I have no useful experience with AutoLayout :slight_smile: but when you create the grid just create it using the bounds of the superview:

// create a grid - with a 40 pixel padding
_shinobiDataGrid = [[ShinobiDataGrid alloc] initWithFrame:CGRectInset(myView.bounds, 40, 40)];

// add to the view
[myView addSubview:_shinobiDataGrid];

Wg

I ended up with a somewhat hacky solution to this. I’d still love to use autolayout, but this works.

In the ViewController that contains the grid, use code that looks something like this:

// At this point, we know the calculated frames, so we can use grid
-(void)viewDidLayoutSubviews
{
  CGRect gridFrame = CGRectInset([self.view bounds], 40, 40);
  self.grid.frame = gridFrame;
}

From your hack, are you adding the grid to a dynamic (sized) view that’s sized/finished sizing after the grid has been added?

Wg

I am new to IOS programming.  But the workflow I have, as I understand it is:

ViewController gets initialized, and creates the grid with CGRectZero as its frame. Immediately adds it as a subview.

Autolayout happens (sometime after viewDidLoad, and before viewDidLayoutSubviews)